There are many historic places to visit throughout Renfrewshire.
PAISLEY ABBEY - Thirteen monks came from Much Wenlock, in Shropshire to set up the priory on the site of an old Celtic Church. Founded by St. Mirin in the 6th century in 1245 the priory was raised to the status of an Abbey, answerable only to the pope in Rome, the Abbey was dedicated to St. Mary, St. James, St. Mirin the local saint who had brought Christianity to this part of Scotland in the 6th century.
PAISLEY THREAD MILL MUSEUM - The museum aims to reserve the social and industrial heritage of the Thread Mills the museum is housed in the basement of the Abbey Mill Business Centre also known as the Mile End Mill on Seedhill Road, Paisley.Entry is at the front of the building via the first car park - for disabled access please enter by the main Reception Area through the second car park.
Open every Wednesday and Saturday 12pm - 4pm admission is free.
SMA'SHOT COTTAGES PAISLEY - The Sma'Shot Cottage complex is unique in Scotland providing visitors with the opportunity to see two distinct periods in Paisleys Weaving history. From Shuttle Street you will enter the Weavers Cottage and be transported back in time nearly 250 years.
Entry is free and it is open Wednesday and Saturday during the months from April to September.
RENFREW MUSEUM(RENFREW CROSS RENFREW) - Renfrew is known as the Cradle Of The Stewarts due to its historic royal connections. Visit this 4 star - awarded visitor attraction to enjoy an interactive experience relating the story of the former Royal Burgh Of Renfrew from medieval times until the present.The museum showcases life in Renfrew over the centuries, the heavy industry in the area, the importance of Renfrew airport to aviation history - see a Merlin engine from a Spitfire and discover the importance of Renfrew's position on the Clyde to shipbuilding.
Access through Renfrew Town Hall - opening hours Mon - Fri 9.30 - 16.45 pm Sat 10.00 - 14.00 Tel - 0300 300 13210 - check before visiting on Public Holidays. Entry is free.
COATS OBSERVATORY AND MUSEUM - Opened in 1983 Coats Observatory in Paisley is the oldest public observatory in Scotland and still offers a fascinating day out for those with an interest in the solar system. Despite its age this working Victorian observatory has a bang up to date digital planetarium which means you can lie back and explore the night sky from the comfort of your chair. You will see projections of thousands of stars with constellations highlighted and can zoom in on objects that can only be seen from powerful telescopes.
For more information please view the following website www.britainsfinest.co.uk
THE TEMPLE ON KENMUIR HILL on the outskirts of Howood was built around 1760 and is usually described as a circular folly which was possibly used as a watch tower or for the ladies to use as a vantage point to watch the hunt.
WALLACE MONUMENT - The Wallace Monument in Elderslie unveiled in September 1912 is without a doubt one of scotland's most historic paying tribute to a man who fought and died for Scotland's freedom.
THOMAS COATS MEMORIAL CHURCH - This church was built by the Coats Family as a memorial to Thomas Coats a man who was committed to Paisley and a founder of the world known J&P Coats Company. Known as the Baptist Cathederal of Europe this amazing building has been part of the Paisley skyline for over 100 years and beyond its oak doors lie many great pieces of architecture.
ST MIRRIN CATHEDRAL - This Roman Catholic Cathedral is dedicated to St Mirrin the patron saint of Paisley. Situated at the junction of Incle Street and Glasgow Road it is a neo-Romanesque style building. It has an Italian Marble chancel, pulpit with a scuplted representation of the Sermon on the Mount and Art Deco style Stations of the Cross. The Tweve Apostles are depicted on Stained Glass Windows.
FOUNTAIN GARDENS - Situated on the fringe of Paisley centre with access from Love Street and Caledonia Street,the gardens are on ground originally housing Hope Temple Gardens created by John Love a prominent businessman. After his bankruptcy the grounds were purchased by Thomas Coats (owner of the famous Coats mills) and redesigned. Gifted to the people of Paisley the gardens contain an eloborate central fountain,which was restored 2013-2014, with dolphins, herons and cherubs.